Here’s Looking at Film, Kid


Who has time for movies anymore? by Matt Click
October 29, 2007, 12:39 pm
Filed under: Random Entries

Something strange happened the other day. Something that has never really happened to me before. Something that depressed me. Last Friday, I was all set to see Ridley Scott’s new flick, American Gangster. I’ve been looking forward to this one for a while and early reviews indicate an early Oscar contender (not that winning an Oscar even amounts to anything anymore — just sayin’). Suffice to say, I was pretty psyched.

I checked movie times for my local multiplex. Nothing. I checked my local art-house. Nothing. The nearby Auburn cinemas. Nothing, nothing, nothing. American Gangster wasn’t playing anywhere. I was pissed. Why the hell weren’t any of my local theaters getting this thing?

Because it wasn’t released yet.

The realization hit me hard. I wasn’t savvy. I wasn’t aware. For the first time in years, I neglected my passion for cinema. Maybe I’m overreacting, though. Could it be that I’m just blowing this out of proportion?

Probably. But that doesn’t change the fact that I have to wait another week for American Gangster. And that sucks more than anything.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment